Feb 27 2018

Not convinced, but worth a try

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America recently released its nominees for the 2017 Nebula Awards (which are awarded to the best sci-fi novel, novella, novelette, and short story of the year, as determined by professional authors). The Verge published the list of nominees...

More »

Feb 26 2018

The Duchess Deal, by Tessa Dare

2018-02-26-the-duchess-deal-by-tessa-dare

After dipping our romance-reading toes into a workplace romantic comedy, a historical suspense novel, and a sexy angst-fest, it's time for an old favorite: a Regency romance...

More »

Feb 26 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: The Duchess Deal, by Tessa Dare

2018-02-26-weekly-book-giveaway-the-duchess-deal-by-tessa-dare

And the last title in our month of romance-themed Book Giveaways is Tessa Dare's The Duchess Deal, the first installment in her 'Girl Meets Duke' series. (I fully approve of that series title, by the way. Evocative!) A full review will follow shortly, but already I feel confident saying that this will appeal to fans of Julia Quinn and Suzanne Enoch...

More »

Feb 22 2018

How will he work in Jason Dohring? Only time will tell.

2018-02-22-how-will-he-work-in-jason-dohring-only-time-will-tell

And in other TV-adaptation news, Rob Thomas (the Veronica Mars and iZombie one, not the singer) is working on an adaptation of Iva-Marie Palmer's 2014 YA novel The End of the World as We Know It. The show will star Gage Golightly, and the plot sounds fun...

More »

Feb 22 2018

Wake me when they start filming

2018-02-22-wake-me-when-they-start-filming

There are signs of life for the BBC's long-dormant television adaptation of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. I'm not counting on anything (there doesn't seem to be any news on the cast, director, filming timeline, etc.), but...

More »

Feb 21 2018

"Borrowing"

2018-02-21-borrowing

Atlas Obscura recently posted an article about a potential Shakespearean source text: an unpublished work by a 16th century ambassador. Scholars are using the same anti-plagiarism software that colleges use to count the similarities between George North's 1576 treatise...

More »

Feb 20 2018

Hate to Want You, by Alisha Rai

2018-02-20-hate-to-want-you-by-alisha-rai

I have strong romance novel preferences. I only willingly read books about characters who routinely bathe. I like sex scenes to feature clearly expressed consent. And, as long-time readers of the site know, I want protagonists to pass my...

More »

Feb 20 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: Hate to Want You, by Alisha Rai

2018-02-20-weekly-book-giveaway-hate-to-want-you-by-alisha-rai

Continuing our month of romance reviews, this week's Book Giveaway pick is Alisha Rai's Hate to Want You. It looks like it's PACKED with angst, which isn't usually my thing (I prefer romances where the protagonists seem mentally healthy enough to actually make a relationship work, even before loads of therapy). On the other hand, "nice couple meets at puppy obedience class, dates successfully, then lives happily ever after" wouldn't be a particularly scintillating read...

More »

Feb 16 2018

Not for kids, necessarily

2018-02-16-not-for-kids-necessarily

According to Deadline, Wonder director Stephen Chbosky has been chosen to direct a biopic about Dr. Seuss. The movie will reportedly focus on Geisel’s relationship with his first wife, Helen Palmer...

More »

Feb 15 2018

Killer fishie

2018-02-15-killer-fishie

About five years ago, we went through a period where I feel like we were receiving one mermaid-themed book a month. (They varied in quality, but they were all heavy on the angst.) Maybe I just fell out of the mermaid-novel-review circuit, but...

More »

Feb 14 2018

A knockoff of a knockoff of a

2018-02-14-a-knockoff-of-a-knockoff-of-a

The trailer is out for the second season of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events. I've always dismissed this series as diet Edward Gorey, but I see that they're going for a PG-rated...

More »

Feb 13 2018

Remember phonics?

2018-02-13-remember-phonics

There's a fascinating (and horrifying) interview on NPR about the disconnect between current research on the science of reading and how it is actually taught to children, which might explain why only a third(!!!) of American schoolchildren read at grade level. The interview subject is Mark Seidenberg, a cognitive scientist...

More »

Feb 13 2018

At least there's that

2018-02-13-at-least-theres-that

I don't really see the need for yet another Charlie and the Chocolate Factory movie adaptation, but apparently one is in the works. At least this version won't be...

More »

Feb 12 2018

An Extraordinary Union, by Alyssa Cole

2018-02-12-an-extraordinary-union-by-alyssa-cole

Alyssa Cole's An Extraordinary Union is ambitious: it's a Civil War-era action/romance featuring a biracial couple, both of whom were inspired by real historical figures. (The heroine is based on Mary Bowser, the hero on Timothy Webster.) Cole doesn't stick every landing, but her story succeeds on an impressive number of fronts...

More »

Feb 12 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: An Extraordinary Union, by Alyssa Cole

2018-02-12-weekly-book-giveaway-an-extraordinary-union-by-alyssa-cole

Continuing our month-long celebration of romance novels, this week's Book Giveaway is Alyssa Cole's historical romance/adventure An Extraordinary Union. I'm only about halfway through it, but thus far the romance stuff is fine, but a bit of a distraction from the A+++ spy action. A full review will follow shortly...

More »

Feb 8 2018

May it be the first of many

2018-02-08-may-it-be-the-first-of-many

For the first time in its 40+ year history, the British comic anthology 2000 AD will feature an all-female creative lineup for one of its upcoming summer special editions. According to THR, everyone working on the Sci-Fi Special issue is female...

More »

Feb 8 2018

Bored already

2018-02-08-bored-already

The teaser trailer is out for Sony's upcoming Venom adaptation, and I am underwhelmed. First, this movie appears to be devoid of humor. Second, I'm still confused as to how these movies connect with the Marvel universe. And third, where the hell is Venom's costume? I want to see something that looks like demonic bug...

More »

Feb 7 2018

PIGOONS!

2018-02-07-pigoons

Variety informs me that a TV series adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy is in the works at Paramount Television and Anonymous Content. This isn't the first attempt at adapting this material (Darren Aronofsky was previously working on an adaptation of the novels for HBO—thankfully we've been spared that), but...

More »

Feb 6 2018

The wonderful world of Stephen King

2018-02-06-the-wonderful-world-of-stephen-king

I keep seeing commercials for Castle Rock, the upcoming Hulu miniseries that appears to mash together loads of Stephen King stories into a single world. The show will feature a bunch of actors who have appeared in movie adaptations of King's books, from Sissy Spacek to Bill Skarsgård, although...

More »

Feb 6 2018

A workable theory

2018-02-06-a-workable-theory

Atlas Obscura recently posted an article about the mysterious Voynich Manuscript, which we have written about before. It has long been regarded as gibberish, but Grzegorz Kondrak, a computer scientist specializing in artificial intelligence, thinks he might have cracked the code...

More »

Feb 5 2018

The Hating Game, by Sally Thorne

2018-02-05-the-hating-game-by-sally-thorne

Sally Thorne's The Hating Game borrows heavily from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. I applaud Ms. Thorne's taste in inspirational material, but her book serves as a reminder of how much more there is to Pride and Prejudice than than the romantic storyline. Don't get me wrong: I'm as big a Lizzy/Darcy shipper as the next nerd, but if you stripped their story down to a series of squabbles, mistakes, and inept courting, it wouldn't be nearly as satisfying...

More »

Feb 5 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: The Hating Game, by Sally Thorne

2018-02-05-weekly-book-giveaway-the-hating-game-by-sally-thorne

This week's Book Giveaway is Sally Thorne's novel The Hating Game. It's the first in a month-long series of romance novel reviews, all of which I have chosen based on recommendations from this post. (It's a change from my Target Method, but one must live dangerously.) A full review will be posted shortly...

More »

Feb 1 2018

Tattoos for the indecisive

2018-02-01-tattoos-for-the-indecisive

And speaking of fashion, I also love these temporary tattoos featuring the artwork of Oliver Jeffers, the illustrator of The Day the Crayons Quit...

More »

Feb 1 2018

100% would watch

2018-02-01-100-would-watch

Go Fug Yourself recently featured a couture fashion show by Chinese designer Guo Pei (best known for Rihanna's Met Gala gown a few years ago), and it was glorious. I don't know anything about high fashion, but...

More »

Jan 31 2018

Award-worthy

2018-01-31-awardworthy

The first pictures are out from the upcoming movie adaptation of Angie Thomas's much-buzzed-about debut novel The Hate U Give. I still haven't read this book (though I mean to!), but the movie adaptation has attracted a great cast...

More »

Jan 30 2018

Don't understand

2018-01-30-dont-understand

And the first trailer is out for the upcoming Jack Ryan TV show, based on the Tom Clancy novels and starring John Krasinski. I find Krasinski far more charming than Tom Cruise, but was this series really crying out...

More »

Jan 30 2018

Hopefully it makes loads of money

2018-01-30-hopefully-it-makes-loads-of-money

The first trailer is out for Ant-Man and the Wasp. It's apparently the first Marvel film to name a female character in the title, so: yay for progress! On the other hand, I...

More »

Jan 29 2018

Runaways: An Original Novel, by Christopher Golden

2018-01-29-runaways-an-original-novel-by-christopher-golden

I'm not totally sure what “Original Novel” means to the bigwigs at Marvel, but that's the slightly misleading phrase they're using to describe Christopher Golden's new book Runaways. (I guess “Transparent Cash Grab” didn't fit on the cover.) Golden's book doesn't seem to be a direct relation of either the rebooted comics or the recent TV adaptation, but rather a story that branches off from an early volume of Brian K. Vaughn's original series...

More »

Jan 29 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: Runaways, by Christopher Golden

2018-01-29-weekly-book-giveaway-runaways-by-christopher-golden

This week's Book Giveaway is Marvel's Runaways, by Christopher Golden. It has "An Original Novel" as its official subtitle, which is a little confusing: it's based on the Marvel comic series of the same name, but it appears to operate independently from the storylines created in either the comics or the TV adaptation. A full review will follow shortly, but be warned: it will be rife with possibly confusing spoilers for fans of this story's other formats...

More »

Jan 25 2018

Ugh, no way.

2018-01-25-ugh-no-way

I just ran across a review for the movie Colette, starring Keira Knightley and inspired by the life of the famous French author. I had no idea this movie was a thing, and while I see the reviewer describes the film as "politely sexy", I have my doubts that a biography of Colette could be anything other than profoundly depressing...

More »