Oct 31 2016

Weekly Book Giveaway: The Secret Keepers, by Trenton Lee Stewart

This week's Book Giveaway is The Secret Keepers, the latest book by The Mysterious Benedict Society author Trenton Lee Stewart. A full review will follow shortly, but first I must inform you that this cover art is even cooler in person...

More »

Oct 27 2016

I like the cover, at least.

2016-10-27-i-like-the-cover-at-least

According to io9, Lord of the Rings writers Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, and Philippa Boyens are co-writing and producing a movie adaptation of Philip Reeve’s YA steampunk saga Mortal Engines. (Unlike LoTR, Jackson will not direct this film.) I thought...

More »

Oct 27 2016

Testing

2016-10-27-testing

So, my local Barnes and Noble is a test store, and they are currently trying out a new set-up where there are no "new release" sections. Instead, new books are faced outward on the shelves, but arranged alphabetically by author. This does make more room for books, but I suspect the bigger reason is that shoppers are now forced to browse the entire section to look for the latest releases...

More »

Oct 26 2016

Maybe?

2016-10-26-maybe

According to THR, Jennifer Lawrence has been cast as Zelda Fitzgerald in an upcoming biopic based on Nancy Milford’s best-selling biography Zelda. I have my doubts about this project: Lawrence is an excellent actress, she'll look great in period fashions, and...

More »

Oct 25 2016

Not feeling it

2016-10-25-not-feeling-it

There's been a lot of controversy over the United Nations' recent decision to appoint Wonder Woman as their honorary ambassador for the empowerment of women and girls. I can actually appreciate...

More »

Oct 25 2016

Still expensive, though

2016-10-25-still-expensive-though

Swiss-Miss recently introduced me to Depero Futurista, or "The Bolted Book", a 1927 work by the Italian Futurist Fortunato Depero. The book, which has long been unavailable, is described as "[a collection of] bold typographic experimentation, daring layouts, and featuring work in nearly every artistic and design medium". With the help of...

More »

Oct 24 2016

The Invisible Library and The Masked City, by Genevieve Cogman

2016-10-24-the-invisible-library-and-the-masked-city-by-genevieve-cogman

The Invisible Library and The Masked City, the first two books in an ongoing series by Genevieve Cogman, read like a blend of Jasper Fforde's Thursday Next series and Daniel O'Malley's Rook Files. Happily, Cogman takes these familiar ingredients—literary references, bureaucratic rivalries, pragmatic heroines—and...

More »

Oct 24 2016

Weekly Book Giveaway: The Invisible Library, by Genevieve Cogman

2016-10-24-weekly-book-giveaway-the-invisible-library-by-genevieve-cogman

This week we're giving away The Invisible Library, the first book in Genevieve Cogman's fantasy/historical fiction series of the same name. Our review of The Invisible Library and its sequel, The Masked City, will be posted shortly...

More »

Oct 20 2016

Fingers crossed

2016-10-20-fingers-crossed

And in other movie news, Variety is reporting that Warner Bros. has acquired Kevin Kwan's 2013 novel Crazy Rich Asians and has fast-tracked the romantic-comedy for production. Here's hoping it makes loads of money: it will be one...

More »

Oct 20 2016

Sure, whatever.

2016-10-20-sure-whatever

The teaser trailer is out for the upcoming miniseries adaptation of Liane Moriarty's 2014 bestselling novel Big Little Lies, which will air on HBO in 2017. The trailer doesn't tell us much, apart from...

More »

Oct 19 2016

Two thumbs up

2016-10-19-two-thumbs-up

Entertainment Weekly recently put together a useful list of 31 Spooky Books to Read This Halloween. In addition to the fact that I always love dorky holiday-themed reading lists, their picks are actually really good: there are plenty of expected names...

More »

Oct 18 2016

Allegedly not haunted

2016-10-18-allegedly-not-haunted

Atlas Obscura recently posted a fascinating article about the 13 abandoned apartments that remain in New York City's branch libraries. The apartments were originally designed to house the library caretakers and their families, but after the buildings were modernized most of the apartments were re-absorbed into the larger library spaces...

More »

Oct 18 2016

Keeping an open mind

2016-10-18-keeping-an-open-mind

According to E! Online, J.K. Rowling has confirmed that there will be five(!!!) Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them movies. This seems unnecessarily stretched out, but, hey...

More »

Oct 17 2016

Arabella, by Georgette Heyer

2016-10-17-arabella-by-georgette-heyer

As a longtime Georgette Heyer fan, I was tantalized by the recent rumor that one of her books (The Grand Sophy) is being developed into a feature film. News on the project is scarce, but my hopes are high. The Grand Sophy would make a wonderful movie, but so would any number of Heyer's other books—not least her 1949 novel Arabella, one of her lightest and most beloved regency-era romances...

More »

Oct 17 2016

Weekly Book Giveaway: Arabella, by Georgette Heyer

2016-10-17-weekly-book-giveaway-arabella-by-georgette-heyer

This week's Book Giveaway is Georgette Heyer's 1949 regency romance novel Arabella. I have no idea why the woman in the cover image looks so pensive; this is a totally cheerful book, I promise! A full review will follow shortly...

More »

Oct 13 2016

Keeping up the good work

2016-10-13-keeping-up-the-good-work

According to THR, Teen Wolf creators Jeff Davis and Andrew Cochran are looking to continue their work with MTV by developing a TV adaptation of H.G. Wells's 1897 novel The War of the Worlds. I'm not sure how they'll manage to transform this book into a sexy and frequently-shirtless teen drama, but...

More »

Oct 13 2016

I can live without it, myself.

2016-10-13-i-can-live-without-it-myself

The Huffington Post informs me that there is apparently an Outlander clothing line. Who knew? The clothes are available at both Hot Topic and Torrid, cost between $38.90 and $118.90, and pay tribute to the two time periods the heroine experiences: mid-20th century Europe and 18th century Scotland...

More »

Oct 12 2016

Ever? No.

2016-10-12-ever-no

The Daily Dot recently compiled a list of the 9 Best Fantasy Book Series. The title of this list is misleading—it's more a list of recommended series for fans of Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and Game of Thrones, and as such, the choices are fine...

More »

Oct 11 2016

She's already famous

2016-10-11-shes-already-famous

And speaking of Jane Austen, we're finally getting a good look at the £10 notes featuring her likeness. I'm not sure about that color scheme (why so orange?), but...

More »

Oct 11 2016

Get famous

2016-10-11-get-famous

According the Folio Society's blog, they recently announced the subject of their 2017 Book Illustration Competition: they are looking for someone to illustrate Jane Austen's Mansfield Park...

More »

Oct 10 2016

The Goal, by Elle Kennedy

2016-10-10-the-goal-by-elle-kennedy

Earlier this year, we reviewed the first three books in Elle Kennedy's Off-Campus series, a collection of New Adult romances set in the college hockey world. The final book in the quartet, The Goal, has recently been released, and it has just as much easy charm as its predecessors...

More »

Oct 10 2016

Weekly Book Giveaway: The Goal, by Elle Kennedy

2016-10-10-weekly-book-giveaway-the-goal-by-elle-kennedy

This week's Book Giveaway is Elle Kennedy's The Goal, the fourth book in her Off-Campus series. (My mother hates these covers. I admit, I'm a little creeped out to discover that it's possible to develop muscles in one's armpit.) Our review will follow shortly...

More »

Oct 6 2016

Pretty!

2016-10-06-pretty

I'm fascinated by this Instagram account: Folded Pages Distillery makes... vignettes? Visual tributes? to various books. I don't really understand the point of these images, but they appeal to the same part of me that sincerely enjoys looking at competitive table-decorating displays...

More »

Oct 6 2016

Phonies abound

2016-10-06-phonies-abound

According to Veranda magazine, the Cornish Center for Cartoon Studies is "giving admirers of J.D. Salinger the chance to live and work in the author's former home in rural New Hampshire." The winner of the Cornish CCS Residency Fellowship will be given...

More »

Oct 5 2016

An unholy hybrid

2016-10-05-an-unholy-hybrid

Publishers Weekly informs me that Harlequin has added yet another imprint to its trade program: Graydon House Books will focus on "commercial women's fiction", and plans to start releasing titles by next September. I'd be more excited about this news if...

More »

Oct 4 2016

Tragic

2016-10-04-tragic

According to the LA Times, there is an ongoing murder trial in England centering around the theft of a first edition of Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows. The details of the crime are pretty creepy, so I'll stick to the bare-bones version: a man named Michael Danaher...

More »

Oct 4 2016

Efficient!

2016-10-04-efficient

There's an article on Mental Floss about the new "tiny train" book-delivery service that has been installed in the New York Public Library located in the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building. Sadly, the library refrained...

More »

Oct 3 2016

Otherworld Chills, by Kelley Armstrong

2016-10-03-otherworld-chills-by-kelley-armstrong

Kelley Armstrong is right up there with J.K. Rowling when it comes to creating supplementary material for her books. She has written more than fifty(!) short stories and novellas set in her Women of the Otherworld universe. Seven of these are now available in the anthology Otherworld Chills, which consists of six previously-published works and one new story...

More »

Oct 3 2016

Weekly Book Giveaway: Otherworld Chills, by Kelley Armstrong

2016-10-03-weekly-book-giveaway-otherworld-chills-by-kelley-armstrong

It's October, and we've been in a very horror-lite mood lately, so this week's Book Giveaway is Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld Chills, a collection of "rare and never-before-published novellas and short stories" set in her "Women of the Otherworld" 'verse. A full review will follow shortly...

More »

Sep 29 2016

Whimsical

2016-09-29-whimsical

If you're a classic shojo manga fan with 13,000 yen (US $129) burning a hole in your pocket, you can now own an extra-fancy replica of Super Sailor Moon's "Kaleidomoon Scope" from Sailor Moon Super S. According to Anime News Network, the...

More »